To Live and to Love

Now choose life, so that you and your children may live and that you may love the LORD your God, listen to his voice, and hold fast to him. For the LORD is your life, and he will give you many years in the land he swore to give to your fathers, Abraham, Isaac and Jacob. Deuteronomy 30:19-20.

Celebrating Easter March 21, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — mrsschrage @ 9:15 pm

Maybe I’m feeling nostalgic for my family Easter, maybe I want to be super-group-home-family-teacher, but I’m in the mood to make Easter special… I was realizing today that Easter means a lot more to me than I always thought. Although Thanksgiving is top on my favorite holiday list, my parents did a lot to make Easter special and I want to pass something to our kiddos. My fellow staunch Reformed counterparts might not appreciate Easter celebrations (no bunnies allowed in some churches) but I however, think there’s a pleasant freshness and whimsy in celebrating Easter. Even Easter eggs can be spiritual right? Celebrating rebirth, God’s creation and God’s order of the seasons… Maybe I’m pushing it a little…

Anyways, I was researching inspiration and here are some ideas:

Giving a gift? How ’bout the adorable cut-out basket?

Easter bunny garland? Too cute!

I don’t have any doilies, but if I did, these doily baskets would look festive holding decorated eggs.

And I really want to make Hot Cross Buns. I never have and like the idea of the tradition!

Finish off with a little carrot cake? This is the recipe I made for my wedding cake… It’s been nearly a year, how fitting!

 

3 Responses to “Celebrating Easter”

  1. Patty Spiehler Says:

    We will certainly miss you this Easter. I love watching the
    little ones look for the hidden eggs. Start your own Easter
    tradition………Love you. G Ma S

  2. Heather L. Says:

    YES! You need to make hot cross buns. Here’s a recipe:

    http://blackberryramblesrecipes.blogspot.com/2008/03/hot-cross-buns.html

    My idea this year is to make the hot-cross buns in small loaves (to save time) and also to improve on the crosses by somehow making them a bit more like pastry strips.

    If you need a recipe for mixed spice — I have one. I love mixed spice — it’s the ground coriander that sets it apart from the pumpkin pie spice, I think.

  3. mrsschrage Says:

    Heather

    Do you make hot cross buns on Good Friday? I looked over your recipe and it looks so delicious. I’m definitely making your version! I haven’t heard of mixed spice so yes, all the help would be great. I lean towards iced crosses, because who couldn’t pass up yummy icing? 🙂


Leave a Reply

