To Live and to Love

Now choose life, so that you and your children may live and that you may love the LORD your God, listen to his voice, and hold fast to him. For the LORD is your life, and he will give you many years in the land he swore to give to your fathers, Abraham, Isaac and Jacob. Deuteronomy 30:19-20.

Day Six: Snacks January 17, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — mrsschrage @ 10:06 am

Even though I said this week was less challenging, I do appreciate that there are recipes that make suggestions for each category.

Suggested Snacks:

Spiced Hummus: I think if I had hummus on hand, I might be more inclined to snack on veggies. Dipping veggies in Ranch dressing pretty much cancels out any nutritional value. Hummus is definitely an overlooked health gem. I see it in the refrigerator section at grocery stores, but it tastes fake. It’s way better to make it from scratch and it’s easy too. I still haven’t used Tahini like Alicia says to, but only because I’ve never felt like buying that jar of Tahini.

Biscotti: This, too, is a good snack idea. It’s a lower calorie option than a cookie, and since it takes so long to eat a biscotti, you’ll eat less! Plus, biscotti have a long shelf life. This recipe has ginger and dark chocolate, both rich tasting ingredients, so it seems to me that you would be more satisfied with one or two than you would say chocolate chip cookies. One thing in particular that I really appreciate about most of Martha Stewart’s recipes is that they include the nutritional break-down (only 84 calories per biscotti). This would be perfect to go with my new favorite tea (thanks, Jeff!) we got at World Market (80 bags for 6.99). Or better yet, coffee!

Granola, or this granola: Again, granola is on my list of things to try at home. I bought wheat germ the other day at Amazing Savings (the organic outlet store) for $.40/lb in preparation for the day I follow through with this idea.

Since doing the challenge, I’ve been snacking on almonds and rice cakes, which are surprisingly enjoyable. I always like snacking on dried cranberries and the orange flavored cranberries from Trader Joe’s are my favorite. I should have looked at the packaging for the gummy fruit slices Jeff and I devoured the other night BEFORE making that the evening snack. (We were watching The Dark Night and needed a diversion from the intensity….) Really, planning ahead for snacking would save a lot of calories and be much more filling. Snacks are usually bought spontaneously and with little attention paid to the nutrition panel. A cookie jar filled with low calorie, low sodium goodies and a pantry with nuts and fruits would go much further to reinforce the healthy mealtimes. Hmm…

 

2 Responses to “Day Six: Snacks”

  1. Alicia Says:

    You need the tahini :). It’s essential. I agree it is better from scratch. I just started using dried beans instead of canned, works great.

  2. AmyK Says:

    I struggle with finding healthy snack ideas, especially for the kids who need snacks two times per day still, and sometimes a third snack before bed!! Thanks for the ideas. I’m going to try some of this.


Leave a Reply

