To Live and to Love

Now choose life, so that you and your children may live and that you may love the LORD your God, listen to his voice, and hold fast to him. For the LORD is your life, and he will give you many years in the land he swore to give to your fathers, Abraham, Isaac and Jacob. Deuteronomy 30:19-20.

Days Three and Four January 15, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — mrsschrage @ 11:28 am

Jeff and I had a very full day yesterday and I didn’t have access to the computer. By the time I got home, I didn’t care about anything except bedtime.

Day Three: Better Proteins

Day Four: Oils, Herbs, Spices

I don’t have much to say about these days, excep that I have no idea what tempeh is. ?? I feel like I do a pretty good job already of using spices and herbs regularly and heavily. I’ve been paying better attention to the items I buy – avoiding partially hydrogenated  fats, trans fats, etc. I already use olive oil liberally, but I certainly could stand to buy a better brand and buy organic. It’s pretty easy to buy organic in Asheville, and thanks to my friend Lisa, she directed me to Amazing Savings that has cheap organic rejects! Day Four suggests ways to curb overeating, like making plates instead of serving family style. We do that already, although not for those reasons, just the convenience of fewer dishes to wash… But since Jeff and I both have gained weight since getting married, I don’t think it’s necessarily helping.

This recipe suggested looks good!

So far, I’ve enjoyed Week One best. I think it offered more challenge, and more change. Now that Week Two is half way through, there has been little challenge and it’s really been just a return to normal for me. I wish The B&S Challenge had continued its thought questions and had structured Week Two to be more informative.

 

One Response to “Days Three and Four”

  1. Alicia Says:

    Take heart, you’re not the only one who has gained weight since getting married. We did :). I wasn’t even pregnant and gained weight…


Leave a Reply

