To Live and to Love

Now choose life, so that you and your children may live and that you may love the LORD your God, listen to his voice, and hold fast to him. For the LORD is your life, and he will give you many years in the land he swore to give to your fathers, Abraham, Isaac and Jacob. Deuteronomy 30:19-20.

Day Four: Purify January 8, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — mrsschrage @ 9:39 am

The best activity of all week: a bath! I wish it was bedtime already. However, it calls for epsom salts, baking soda, and grapefruit oil. The baking soda and epsom salts are easy, but really, grapefruit oil? Where am I supposed to find that? And, I think I’ll improve upon the purify to-do and add 10 minutes of steaming my face. It always relaxes me.

What are your main day-to-day stressors?

Marriage – trying to learn how to get along. Money and jobs – never having either.

On a scale of one to 10, how stressed do you feel?

9. Not always, but this week, a 9. Sometimes, it is about a 6 or a 7. Never below 5. Stress is always present.

What are your methods for dealing with stress?

Since I resent stress and since I am a sinner, usually my natural reaction is to lash out at those nearest me. Some people say they take a bath, or exercise or find ways to “channel” their stress. Maybe that works for them, maybe they’ve attained some higher level of being than me, but I’m simply not going to lie. I am a sinner and stress causes me to sin.

Do you feel these methods are healthy or unhealthy?

Uhh, yeah. Super unhealthy.

What, if anything, would you like to change about how you react to and deal with stress?

1) Pray more. When life stressors (like a not being able to find a job) come my way, I need to not take it so personally, but pray about it. 2) Don’t take it out on Jeff. 3) Make the choice not to be stressed out. I think stress can be controlled simply by my choice not to react to it. I need to make this choice more often.

 

2 Responses to “Day Four: Purify”

  1. amelia Says:

    I just came across your blog, and I am really enjoying your writing, it is very pleasant and relatable. I will be trying the B&S challenge as well; it will be very motivating to see your posts as I too attempt to achieve real health in both in body and spirit. Thank you

  2. mrsschrage Says:

    Thank you, Amelia! Hope you enjoy the B&S Challenge!


Leave a Reply

