To Live and to Love

Now choose life, so that you and your children may live and that you may love the LORD your God, listen to his voice, and hold fast to him. For the LORD is your life, and he will give you many years in the land he swore to give to your fathers, Abraham, Isaac and Jacob. Deuteronomy 30:19-20.

I Found A Gem January 7, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — mrsschrage @ 9:40 pm

If I were to write a New Year’s Resolution, it would be: TO START READING AGAIN! But since I never keep the resoultions I make, I didn’t. As I am feeling more settled into married life, for instance, Jeff and I are finally at the point where we don’t always have to be in the same room together… I’m regretting that I haven’t given reading any part of my life for the last year. So, renewed with my passion for reading, I went to the local used bookstore last week and happily discovered a true gem.

Lenten Lands by Douglas Gresham

Lenten Lands by Douglas Gresham

I have not been able to put down Lenten Lands. I am utterly captivated by the beautiful story telling of C.S. Lewis’s stepson Douglas Gresham. The writing is nearly perfect with an overwhelming honesty and emotional openness. I was expecting the “inside scoop” to what life was like in C.S. Lewis’s home but instead found an incredible story about a broken home, struggle, and love. I have been so impressed with the reality described in the book. But that’s not all.

Halfway through reading the book, my curiosity prompted me to turn to the title page where I found this inscription:

“To Marjorie. God bless you. Douglas Gresham.”

A signed copy!

And then, tucked in the pages of the book was a yellowed bookmark, which I nearly threw away until I noticed writing on the back. It’s filled with encouragements to Marjorie from some set of friends. “Praying for you Marjorie,” “God be with you and your family,” “No loss is easy but take comfort in knowing you will see her again.” Such a sad story! Who is Marjorie? How did she end up with a signed copy of Lenten Lands? Who died? What made Marjorie turn in this book and its accompanying kind bookmark to Mr. K’s Books?

For $3, I think I found priceless gem.

 

4 Responses to “I Found A Gem”

  1. Alicia Says:

    Wow, that is really awesome! It makes the writing of the book even more meaningful. Good find.

  2. Megan Says:

    Wow. That’s amazing! Don’t ever get rid of that and maybe you’d let me borrow it sometime?!?!

  3. Heather L. Says:

    i’ve just added this to my list. Thanks for the review. Sounds like you have the makings of another story with what you found. 🙂

  4. Momma K Says:

    Wow!!! Incredible find!!! I’ll play Megan. “Maybe Marjorie died without close heirs, and the attorney who handled her estate didn’t really look at her stuff, but had a secretary take the books to a used book store.” By the way, don’t let Megan borrow the book cause she’s on my bad list for a long long time. Thanks for the post. I’ll gladly borrow your book, but DON’T lend it to Megan till she repents of her eeeevvvvvvvviiiiiiiiiiillllll ways, ok?


Leave a Reply

